Current Group Members

Young-June Kim

Ph. D. Harvard, B. S. Seoul National University. Professor of Physics

Wentao Jin

Ph.D. Peking University. Wentao joined our group in September 2017 as a HEATER Postdoctoral Fellow. He is working on understanding magnetic properties of iridates using resonant inelastic and elastic scattering techniques.

Blair Lebert

Ph.D. University of Paris. Blair joined our group in April 2018. He is overseeing the installation of new x-ray spectrometer in the McLennan Lab. He is also studying electronic and magnetic excitations in various quantum materials using resonant inelastic x-ray scattering.

Bo Yuan

Bo is a Ph. D. candidate, working on x-ray and neutron scattering investigation of strong-spin orbit coupled magnets.

Subin Kim

Subin is a Ph. D. candidate, working on the synthesis of Kitaev materials.

Sheetal Jain

Sheetal is from India and he just joined our group as a direct-entry Ph. D. student. Sheetal will be working on the x-ray diffraction investigation of quantum materials under uniaxial strain.


Past Group Members


Yanyun Hu (Ph. D. 2018)
Ernst and Young

Mike (Hongyoul) Park (M. Sc. 2018)
Graduate Student
Northwestern University

Jennifer Sears (Ph. D. 2017)

Sae Hwan Chun (PDF 2016-2017)
Staff Scientist
Pohang Accelerator Laboratory (XFEL)

Pat Clancy (PDF 2011-2016)
Research Scientist
McMaster Nuclear Reactor (MNR)

Randy Belanger (M. Sc. 2016)
Ph. D. candidate
Institute for Aerospace Studies
University of Toronto

Andreea Lupascu (Ph. D. 2015)
Financial consulting

Kemp Plumb (Ph. D. 2014)
Assistant Professor
Brown University

Hlynur Gretarsson (Ph. D. 2013)
Staff Scientist
DESY, Germany

David Ellis (Ph. D. 2010)
Research Scientist
Technion, Israel

Jung Ho Kim (PDF 2006-08)
Staff Scientist
Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory

Aharon Kagedan (M. Sc. 2006)
Royal Bank of Canada

Shun He (M. Sc. 2008)

Xin Yu (Charles) Zheng (2017-2018)
Grad student, Stanford University

Hiromitsu Sawaoka (2016)
Grad student, Harvard University

Kyle Hwangbo (2014-2015)
Grad student, University of Washington

Abhinav Jindal (Summer 2015)
Grad student, University of Toronto

Matthew Mackay (Summer 2015)
Undergrad student, University of Toronto

Andrew Gomes (Summer 2015)
Grad student, Cornell University

Jimmy Kim (Summer 2014)
Grad Student, Northwestern University

Matthew Sunohara (Summer 2014)
Grad student, University of Toronto

Amirreza Abdolmaleki (Summer 2012-2013)
Medical school

Ramanjit Sohal (Summer 2013)
Grad student, UIUC

Anthony Ardizzi (Summer 2013)
Grad student, Caltech

Colin Merkel (B. A. Sc. 2013)
Graduate student, University of Toronto

Manila Songvilay (Summer 2012)
Ph. D. student, CEA Saclay, France

Harris Chan (Summer 2012)
Grad student, University of Toronto

Zixin Nie (Summer 2011, 2012)

Wentao Jin (Exchange student 2010)
Juelich centre for neutron science, Germany

Haejoon Cho (Summer 2009)
Graduate student, University of Toronto

Hardeep Sanghera (Summer 2009)
Graduate student, Stanford University

Mike Wan (Summer 2008)
Graduate student, UC Berkeley

Jerod Wagman (Summer 2005-2008)
Ph. D. in physics, McMaster University

Mark Bumagin (Summer 2008)

Alex Klotz (Summer 2007)
Graduate student, McGill University

Amir Gershon (Summer 2007)
Graduate student, York University

Arghavan Safavi-Naini (Summer 2006)
Ph. D., MIT

James Rivett-Carnac (Summer 2006)
Engineer at Singapore Technologies Kinetics

Trisha Farooque (Summer 2005)
Graduate student, University of Toronto

Benjamin Leung (Summer 2005)
Graduate student, Yale University

Devesh Bekah (Summer 2005)
Graduate student, Ryerson University